Come Home Jesus

 

It’s 5 in the morning and the coffee’s cold.

I’m sitting in the dark reinventing my soul.

I hear the windows rattle and I turn up the heat.

Somebody dragging a muffler down a dead end street.

So come home Jesus, come home now.

Give me milk for my coffee from your sacred cow.

I’ve been here too long and I’m ready to go.

Earth ain’t fun when you got no dough.

When I’m finished contemplating the fate of the world

I grease my hair in a conspiratorial swirl.

A preacher starts shouting from my radio,

said I was going to hell and he thought I ought to know.

So come home Jesus, come home now.

Give me milk for my coffee from your sacred cow.

I’ve been here too long and I’m ready to go.

Earth ain’t fun if you got no dough.

I said earth ain’t fun if you got no dough.

So I boil my coffee and I drink it fast

jump in my ’81 Datsun and I give her the gas.

Got to make some hours. Got to demo some walls.

I hear thunder in the East like the snapping of a prayer shawl.

Come home Jesus, come home now.

Give me milk for my coffee from your sacred cow.

I’ve been here too long and I’m ready to go.

Earth ain’t fun if you got no dough.

I said earth ain’t fun if you got no dough.

.

.

Leave a Reply

