PRAYER FOR THE HALF-AWAKE

You who only half listen, I love you.

Who return halfheartedly  are my own

who are tepid as rain water collected in a paper cup

who are limp with self concern

you are my concern.

My heart with a stake in it goes on beating.

My blood green as willow speaks in languages created for itself

alone.

I say break all mirrors! Live without reflection!

Breathe without knowing what breath is.

Kneel into water, do not expect it will rise up to

meet you!

.

.

Leave a Reply

