THREE DARK PRAYERS, A GHOST POEM, THREE FINAL PRAYERS

 

written in 1979

1

Walled city on fire  high walls of bodies
men on fire  women on fire  children on fire
every body a sack of ashes
every body a dry thicket burning thorn against thorn.

2

Make a cross
from the bones of a hummingbird.
Keep the skull for drinking drops of river water
before going into the caves
of body after body.

3

Hawks circle me..
It is the beginning
sit up
open what is left of your eyes.
Climb out of the ground
turn  face East.
Grip the arms of an oak tree.
Rise higher like a plume of surf.
Make a sound like air forced through tubes.

Across a plowed field vapor rises from cooling earth.
Someone with a Spanish accent
is singing about a river.

Begin
to move toward what is more
familiar than your own body.

1

Come
down to me.
I am below you in the grass.
You are above me
in the branches of the oak tree
a sacred tree.

You are songs coming true.
Passing between two banks
you are snow falling into snow melt.
Dark blood leaving the heart
you are green blood returning.

2

Give me a knife to cut myself
free
at the right time.

Now
is the time.

3

You are around me.
I am above you in the branches of your body.
I am inside you
now.
I am not ashamed to be a man.

.

.

Leave a Reply

