WHITE CRANE

White-Heron_-Photograph-by-Mark-Richardson-My-Shot_-Bird-_-This-photo-and-caption-were-submitted-to-My-Shot

Some kinds of light fall evenly into hollows unseen by peanut farmers

and paperhangers.

Some fall into open eyes of  cattle tanks.

I wake up cold mornings to a private light

my tongue a cotton mouthed moccasin coiled around bamboo.

I remember the wings of a white crane surging over me when I was a boy

wading in Stephen’s Creek.

He was following the flow of water where it empties in the San Jacinto.

I could have jumped in the air and touched him!

.

Leave a Reply

