WORDS WRITTEN WHILE WATCHING “THE SANDS OF IWO JIMA”, STARRING JOHN WAYNE AND FOREST TUCKER

tumblr_mcl2z6AUnN1qigaa4o1_1280
.

 

A priest will kneel down over the dead

like a rain cloud on a  grove of flowering oak

washing away tears of sorrow and of joy.

But I will go down into the meat digesting shadow.

I will bend the clear light into seven rays of color for you.

I will paint with these colors a room where children will be happy.

This is my boast, my promise, and my prayer.

Leave a Reply

