ALL THAT YOU HAVE IS YOUR SOUL

Forest dirt road

“All that you have is your soul.” Tracy Chapman

Overhead I see a hologram of sky with no depth to it
only blue surfaces alive as the wings of butterflies tilting in a green wind
but empty
empty of wanting.

Down the road to the river gorge I follow myself
the palms of my hands still sensitive to joy.
I am alive and I am satisfied!
I have eaten of the bitter fruit and found it turns sweet
over time.

Now every leaf is a green fire, every breath
is a breath of fire.
The river is burning!

Look back down the road
see that no one has ever come from there.
We have always been here
on fire!

All you have is your soul.

.

Leave a Reply

