NAKED BEFORE GOD

Blake_God_Judging_Adam

.

“All are naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must give account.”
Hebrews 4:13

This world is a warehouse where the wise burn their treasures
before they can be stored.
Ghosts listening to echoes of their own voices
believe they hear the words of God spoken in tongues
of fire.

I live inside this fire.

After old wounds bleed clean, the scrotum shrivels in the cold.
Testicles curl like mice in a nest of hair
the color of imagined light.
The leather finger is pointing nowhere.

We believed we could make the world into a heaven.
Now it is just another corpse where drunken maggots dance.
Radiant as the moon, we give off light we ourselves cannot
see.

Now I know nothing.
It is this truth and no other that sets me free.
Stripped of shame and of belief, I am naked inside a fire.
Unrepentant, fully human, I fall through incandescent space
until I hit the earth or find that I am
flying.

.

