WORDS WRITTEN IN RESPONSE TO A LETTER FROM THE PLAYWRIGHT, MICHAEL JOHNSON

Steelhead@BZ Falls_White Salmon Basin

 

About to take my walk to the White Salmon, cold as it is. They do say God is present in extreme cold, which is good since he made so damn much of it. Your friends may have lost their way but I don’t believe they are lost forever. There is no end to life. It goes on and on and we all come for healing to the river. I came to the river for help with headaches once. At least that’s what I thought at the time and it worked wonders. Human beings can get corrupted by anything, good or bad. I’ve seen people get corrupted believing they were loving Jesus and Krishna,  by marrying or refusing to marry, by working for a living and believing that was all there was, corrupted by thought and lack of thought, by letting hate become the common ground they walked upon. I myself have been corrupted and come back to the river a number of times. We are born from the water and can get crushed by it falling hard upon us but there’s nothing like being crushed to tenderize the hard of heart. They do say the heart works well, once it has been broken.

I tend to look up. If it weren’t for the moon, I’d be staring at an empty sky, if it weren’t for the stars! We dream and we wake and we dream again. Then we make songs about it no one else will sing unless we sing it for ourselves. This world is always going to be on fire and its ashes are going to get into our eyes. We may have to choke on them from time to time but there is always the river. When we have that, we have everything.

I know these words here, like my prayers to Jesus at the end of December, don’t make no sense at all. Still I say them out loud just to hear my own voice and call it good. If those friends of yours can’t take a joke, which few of us can, then I’d say fare thee well, old friends, I never knew you…. until the next day comes around and we’re born fresh and clean again, as rain.

 

 

.

4 thoughts on “WORDS WRITTEN IN RESPONSE TO A LETTER FROM THE PLAYWRIGHT, MICHAEL JOHNSON

  1. Words of a wise man that no one knows about. Why in the world do people not know about this wise man? Because he is a wise man in the world.

Leave a Reply

