ASKING FOR FORGIVENESS

http://www.sueannreed.com/gallery/visions/man-on-fire.jpg.php

Man on Fire by Sue Reed

What we were, we remain for the people we have hurt.
We never change, never grow old, never die.

In my 20’s and 30’s, I was always in an ecstasy or a rage.
Nothing in between but the silence of a monk
self immolated, flames where my lips were meant to be.

Tongue either raw or a burnt offering.

If you knew me thirty years ago and still wish that I were dead
forgive me first.

That is what I’m asking for.

.

.

6 thoughts on “ASKING FOR FORGIVENESS

  1. “Before you judge my actions, Lord, I pray you will forgive…” Inayat Khan

    Part of a larger poem, you can search for it. I’m still pondering this idea that it’s okay to judge, but you have to forgive first….

Leave a Reply

