TROUBLE FOLLOWS ME ON THE COLDEST MORNING OF THE YEAR

 

IMG_1318

 

I hear the soft yodeling of pigeons
the sound my breath makes hitting against falling snow.
On the news today a thousand crows fell dead over Arkansas
a thousand more in Louisana.
Nobody knows why.

When all questioning stops, the breath rises
filling the gap between the inside and the out.”
These kinds of thoughts come to my mind like quail to a corncob.
I look at them as I would a turnip left for no reason by the side of the road.
Walk on.

Train horns are blowing through the river gorge.
Wild turkeys step lightly in the side yard
feeling for hurled corn under the snow.

So hard to know one face from another in the dark.
Whose eyes am I seeing through?
Whose teeth are these turned the color of Irish tea?

I feel for them with a tongue inside the mouth.
They are like strangers gathered in a train station
looking for food.

.

.

6 thoughts on “TROUBLE FOLLOWS ME ON THE COLDEST MORNING OF THE YEAR

  1. Yay, the words are flowing again. I feel a deep thread of continuity in the poem but I can’t grasp it intellectually. The picture is amazing.

      • Than you, Freddie. The poem is not new. When I first made the website, I posted about a hundred all at once. Used to be able to put one on the front page without re posting it but the free version of wordpress has changed and I can’t do that now. Only thing I can think of is re post a poem and junk the original. Oh yeah, I could pay them a monthly fee but that ain’t gonna happen… 🙂

Leave a Reply

